Faking the Band – Curse you, Circuit City! [5/27/08]

Faking the Band is a weekly feature detailing the latest in downloadable content for Rock Band.

Forgive me for sounding like some die-hard anarchist coming out of a Rage Against The Machine concert, but I think I’ve been brainwashed by capitalism. You see, I’ve tried desperately to get excited about the Cars’ self-titled, debut album coming to Rock Band, but I just can’t muster the enthusiasm. You would have thought that nine brilliant New Wave tracks should do the trick, right? Wrong.

Every time I imagine playing “Just What I Needed,” that god awful, pervasive Circuit City commercial springs to life in my head. Cue some hypothetical jerk in a red polo and khaki slacks sauntering up and trying to sell me another electronic thingamajig I don’t want or need.

“Would you like to see our latest selection of MP3 players?”

“No…(squints)…TED. I’ve a fifth-generation iPod, and the world’s not coming to an end, now is it!? Now bugger off! I’m trying to mimic Ric Ocasek over here!”

“What about our newest digital cameras?”

Needless to say, all of these mental scenarios end in gruesome, despicable acts of violence. We’re talking Elm Street-esque fountains of blood. At least my fellow Rock Band players can be a little more gun-ho about May 27’s DLC (and a little less borderline psychotic).

If you haven’t seen the Circuit City commercial, then surely you remember that infamous scene with Phoebe Cates in Fast Times at Ridgemont High, set to the Cars’ “Moving in Stereo.”

The Cars – The Cars [160 MS points per song / 1200 for full album / all masters]

  • Good Times Roll
  • My Best Friend’s Girl
  • Just What I Needed
  • I’m in Touch with Your World
  • Don’t Cha Stop
  • You’re All I’ve Got Tonight
  • Bye Bye Love
  • Moving in Stereo
  • All Mixed Up