Faking the Band – Fresh and familiar faces [August 5]

Faking the Band is a weekly feature detailing the latest in downloadable content for Rock Band.

When it comes to Rock Band, repeat acts aren’t anything new. The catalogues of on-disc bands like Rush, Red Hot Chili Peppers, the Pixies and the Who have been buffered since launch by the generous weekly stream of DLC. All this is well and good, especially if the added tracks are technical, funky or just plain insane, but who doesn’t like meeting some entirely new musicians? Today’s tracks will introduce players to…well…just one batch of fresh faces, seeing as how the other bands are just rearranged groups of old friends. Have to start somewhere, right?

The trip down memory lane begins with yet another CRÜE FEST Pack. Vince Neil and the rest of the Crüe make an obligatory appearance with “Face Down in the Dirt,” a heavy dose of driving rhythms and the second offering from Saints of Los Angeles. Not to be overshadowed, bassist Nikki Sixx serves up the soaring “Life is Beautiful” from his own group of hard rockers, Sixx:A.M. Finally, newcomers Buckcherry debut with “Rescue Me” off of their upcoming album Black Butterfly.

But that’s not all! A bombshell, ladies and gentlemen: System of a Down has reunited! On our consoles, that is. Daron Malakian and John Dolmayan, the guitar and drum duo behind Scars on Broadway, take their rightful place next to Serj Tankian’s vocal gymnastics in the songs “B.Y.O.B.” and “Toxicity.” Players can expect more of their frazzled alt-metal in September, with the group’s ever-popular “Chop Suey!” appearing on the setlist of Rock Band 2.

CRÜE FEST Pack 2 [80 MS points per song / 240 for pack / all masters]

“B.Y.O.B.” – System of a Down [160 MS points / MASTER]

“Toxicity” – System of a Down [160 MS points / MASTER]