Cataclysm trailer shows the ruined Azeroth, expansion details

By now you’ve heard that the rumored World of Warcraft expansion is official but if you were not lucky enough to be at BlizzCon or have the paid stream, then you might have missed the awesome trailer that was shown. In true Blizzard fashion, the trailer (above) is epic and enticing.

It’s clear that the graphics engine has been updated and you can see it in the water as it looks much better than it does currently. The trailer shows how some of the zones have been effected by the cataclysm and also dives into how the Goblins and Worgens become playable races. Excited yet? If not hit the jump to check out all the details from the preview panel as we’re sure that will get any WoW fan’s excitement level up.

As we could have guessed from the artwork, the game’s main villain will be Deathwing. If you’re not familiar with Warcraft lore, he’s from the Warcraft II universe and is a very chaotic and powerful dragonflight. So the story goes, Deathwing rips out of containment and the force of this causes bad stuff to happen in Azeroth causing all sorts of destruction. It also rips up the containment zones made by the Titans to contain the elementals known as Elemental Planes. As such, a lot of the elemental gods like Ragnaros have been released and they’re very angry. So not only do the heroes of Azeroth have to deal with their world being in ruins, but they have to worry about Deathwing and all the pissed off elementals now awaken. Sounds awesome!

Here are the details of what we can expect from the expansion in terms of content, it’s clear that this will be one of the biggest expansions WoW has seen yet.

New Races

  • Goblins (Horde)
  • Worgens (Alliance)

New Zones

  • Gilneas (Worgen starter area)
  • Lost Isle (Goblin starter area)
  • Sunken City of Vashj’ir (First ever underwater zone)
  • Twilight Highlands
  • Deepholm
  • Mount Hyjal
  • Uldum

New Class Combos

  • Human Hunter
  • Orc Mage
  • Night Elf Mage
  • Blood Elf Warrior
  • Dwarf Shaman
  • Dwarf Mage
  • Undead Hunter
  • Tauren Paladin
  • Tauren Priest
  • Gnome Priest
  • Troll Druid

New Dungeons

  • Grim Batol
  • The Firelands (Ragnaros 2.0)
  • Lost City of Tol’vir
  • Halls of Origination
  • Blackrock Caverns
  • Heroic Deadmines
  • Heroic Shadowfang Keep


  • New arena maps
  • Battle for Gilneas battleground
  • Rated battleground system similar to arena ratings
  • Tol Barad PvP zone


  • Flying mounts in Azeroth
  • Underwater mounts
  • Path of the Titans character advancement
  • Secondary profession Archeology
  • Level 85 cap
  • Updated talent trees
  • New mastery talent system
  • Guild talent trees that include benefits like mass resurrection in raids
  • Guild leveling with 20 guild levels