Robots in disguise! Daft Punk does DJ Hero

DJ Hero just got harder, better, faster, stronger with Rolling Stone‘s revelation of 8 of the 11 exclusive mixes from futuristic French twosome, Daft Punk. Not only will Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel De Homem-Christo be cooking up their special blend of robotic beats for the game, they’ll also be lending their outlandish set designs and costumes, which game makers have meticulously reproduced.

  • Daft Punk “Around the World” vs. Young MC “Bust A Move”
  • Daft Punk “Da Funk” vs. NASA “Strange Enough ft. Karen O, ODB and Fatlip”
  • Daft Punk “Da Funk” vs. Queen “Another One Bites the Dust”
  • Daft Punk “Robot Rock” vs. Hashim “Al-Naafiysh (The Soul)”
  • Daft Punk “Robot Rock” vs. Queen “We Will Rock You”
  • Daft Punk “Short Circuit” vs. Boogie Down Productions “Jack Of Spades”
  • Daft Punk “Technologic” vs. Gary Numan “Cars”
  • Daft Punk “Television Rules The Nation” vs. No Doubt “Hella Good”

This marks the first time Daft Punk has participated in a videogame, but hopefully not the last.

And just for fun, here’s a picture of some Daft Punk hands hovering at the ready above the game’s streamlined turntable controller, courtesy of MTV Multiplayer.

“We did not choose to become robots. There was an accident in our studio. We were working on our sampler, and at exactly 9:09 AM. on September 9, 1999, it exploded. When we regained consciousness, we discovered that we had become robots.”