38 current and former Infinity Ward employees sue Activision, want half a billion dollars

The drama’s not over yet; following fired Infinity Ward men West and Zampella’s lawsuit against Activision and Activision’s counter-suit, 38 current and former Modern Warfare 2 developers have banded together to file a lawsuit of their own, G4 is reporting, seeking up to half a billion dollars in unpaid royalties, bonuses and punitive damages from the publishing giant.

The suit claims that Activision intentionally withheld payments “in an attempt to force employees of Infinity Ward to continue to work at a job that many of them did not want just so Activision could force them to complete the development, production and delivery of Modern Warfare 3“; a decision they label “calculated, purposeful and malicious”.

According to the lawsuit, Infinity Ward employees have so far received $28 million in Modern Warfare 2-related bonuses. However, from last year’s profits alone, at least $54 remains unpaid, the suit alleges.

The group is looking “to recover between $75 million and $125 million, if not more, in compensatory damages.”

In addition, $75 million to $500 million in punitive damages is sought, based on Modern Warfare 2‘s and Activision’s own value.

Activision has responded via the following statement: “Activision believes the action is without merit. Activision retains the discretion to determine the amount and the schedule of bonus payments for MW2 and has acted consistent with its rights and the law at all times. We look forward to getting judicial confirmation that our position is right.”

The group behind the suit consists of: Todd Alderman, Frank Gigliotti, Roger Abrahamsson, Brad Allen, Mohammad Alavi, Richard Baker, Chad Barb, Keith Bell, Chris Cherubini, Taihoon William Cho, Chris Dionne, Joel Emslie, Robert Field, Steve Fuduka, Robert Gaines, Chance Glasco, Preston Glenn, Joel Gompert, Chad Grenier, Mark Grigsby, John Haggerty, Jacob Michael Keating, Chris Lambert, Ryan Lastimosa, Fairfax S. McCandlish IV, Jason McCord, Brent Mcleod, John Paul Messerly, Stephen Miller, Zied Rieke, Jon Shiring, John Slayback, Richard Smith, Geoffery Smith, Jiesang Song, Todd Sue, Rayme C. Vinson and Lei Yang.