Some months ago Red Dead Redemption developer Rockstar threw the weight of the almighty banhammer on a number of players who decided that playing the western with hacked game saves was the way to go. Some of these players are now welcomed back.
As promised in August, those who deleted their hacked gamesaves have been greenlit once more roam the untamed west.
Gamertags and PSN IDs who lucked out and didn’t get banned the first time around, however, as well as those who still attempted to play with hacked save files, are included in the second wave of bans.
But, again, Rockstar is offering means of redemption; “If you have been banned and wish to get back in our good graces to be reinstated – delete your hacked save files, for both single player and multiplayer.”
It’s further explained: “Everything is wiped when deleting saves with the exception of Achievements/Trophies, pre-order items, and cheats unlocked through Social Club. Note that after deleting your hacked game saves, you will then need to go online with Red Dead Redemption for it to register that you’re now playing clean and do the following:
- For single-player saves, you will need to re-play the game while connected until you gain access to the safehouse at MacFarlane’s Ranch.
- For multiplayer saves, you will need to play one full multiplayer game online or do one Gang Hideout.”