Video game music reimagining album The String Arcade now available for preorder

Last year, composer Dren McDonald led a successful Kickstarter campaign for his project The String Arcade, a string quartet reimagining of classic video game music. Now that the recordings are finished, The String Arcade is available for preorder on iTunes and BandCamp and will make its official release on February 11 for digital download and CD.

The String Arcade features fifteen original arrangements inspired by games from Galaga to Minecraft and performed by local musicians. A special appearance is made by the Boston-based Videri String Quartet who perform “The Legend of Zelda” suite. One preview track, Plants Vs. Zombies‘ “Grasswalk,” has been released as a free digital download available on SoundCloud. Here is a list of the tracks available on the album:

  • GrasswalkPlants vs. Zombies
  • Echos of Ecco Ecco the Dolphin
  • Ferdinand Wanders Out For a Late Night HaircutPettington Park
  • EngiiFTL – Faster Than Light
  • Sonic 2 ScherzoSonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Outlaws Title ThemeOutlaws
  • Medicated Cow Walks the Cobbled Streets with Disgruntled Goat Ravenshire Castle
  • Scurvy Scallywags ThemeScurvy Scallywags
  • Scabb Cemetery/International House of MojoThe Secret of Monkey Island 2: LeChuck’s Revenge
  • Altered Beast Title ThemeAltered Beast
  • Optimism For an Improvement in The John Situation
  • Turret SuitePortal 2
  • Minecraft Title ThemeMinecraft
  • Tron Arcade MedleyTron Arcade
  • Tango DowngraBLOX
  • Dance of the Space BugsGalaga
  • The Legend of ZeldaThe Legend of Zelda

The String Arcade can be preordered at a discount leading up to the album’s February 11 release. Digital downloads are available from iTunes for $7.99 (normally $9.99), and the CD version, which includes two bonus tracks not included with the digital download, can be preordered from BandCamp for $9.99 (regularly $11.99).

If awesome discounts aren’t enough to convince you to preorder, also know that all proceeds from album sales will go to the Alameda Music Project, a tuition free K-5 after school program. So go preorder some great video game tunes and help the children too!