If you remember hacking or cheating in Red Dead Redemption, then it may be a good idea to get off your invincible horse, put away your aim-bot, and quit your incredibly fortunate blackjack win streak because, come tomorrow, the ban hammer will be paying you a visit.
Rockstar Games announced today that starting August 24th, they will be “swiftly and indefinitely banishing from the world of Red Dead Redemption multiplayer all Gamertags and PSN IDs” with hacked game saves.
All is not lost, though, as Rockstar will be giving violators a chance for forgiveness (redemption, if you will) by allowing them one week from today to delete any hacked game saves. Rockstar also handed out a list specifying the terms of the extermination, which includes:
- Players who took advantage of the XP grinding exploits will not be at fault as these exploits have been removed.
- Banned hackers will also be removed from the leaderboards
- To be spared, any and all hacked saves will need to be deleted–single and multiplayer.
- Everything is wiped when deleting saves with only a few exceptions:
- Players would keep any Achievements/Tropies they had already earned.
- All preorder items tied to their accounts would be unlocked for them upon signing in and creating a new save while connected to Xbox LIVE or PlayStation Network
- Any cheats earned through Social Cloub would be unlocked for them upon signing in and creating a new save while connected to Xbox LIVE or PlayStation Network
- Finally, after deleting your hacked saves, you will then need to go online with Red Dead Redemption (prior to August 24th) for it to register that you’re now playing clean. For single-player saves, you will need to re-play the game while connected until you gain access to the safehouse at MacFarlane’s ranch. For multiplayer saves, you will need to play one full game online or do one Gang Hideout.
And there you have it–stay clean, everybody.